Replicability label

This year WiSec continues the effort pioneered in 2017, towards supporting greater “reproducibility” in mobile and wireless security experimental research. The goal of this process is to increase the impact of mobile and wireless security research, enable dissemination of research results, code and experimental setups, and to enable the research community to build on prior experimental results. We recognize papers whose experimental results were replicated by an independent committee and provide a “replicability label” accordance to the terminology defined by ACM.

Authors of accepted papers can participate in this voluntary process by submitting supporting evidence of their experiments’ replicability, following the instructions below. Authors are encouraged to plan ahead when running their experiments, in order to minimise the overhead of applying for this label.

To apply for the Replicability label, the authors must:

  • Prepare a VirtualBox VM with all data/tools installed. It is expected that the authors include within this VM raw data (without any pre-processing) and all the scripts used for pre-processing.
  • For each graph/table, provide a directory (Fig_XXX, Table_XXX) which contains a script that enables the committee to regenerate that object.
  • Include in the home directory a readme file, according to the following format. The authors can use the following script to generate information about the configuration of the machine that was used for the experiments.
  • Provide a link to downloading the VM (e.g, google drive or dropbox), or request credentials to upload the VM to the conference storage system.
  • Submit a request on easychair and include a link within the abstract to your VM. [Deadline: April 9, 2019 AOE]

If the committee can verify that all relevant data sets were included and the graphs/tables can be regenerated based on this, the committee will grant a Replicability Label and also provide a report on the regeneration process.

Replicability Committee:

  • Aanjhan Ranganathan (co-chair), Northeastern University
  • Panos Papadimitratos (co-chair), KTH (Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Giovanni Camurati, EURECOM
  • Guevara Noubir, Northeastern University
  • Hongyu Jin, KTH (Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Mohammad Khodaei, KTH (Royal Institute of Technology)
  • Paul Patras, University of Edinburgh
  • Sashank Narain, Northeastern University